Skip to content

New Book Reviews!!!

June 25, 2012

Her Unlikely Bodyguard by Lorraine Nelson

LN Bodyguard 200x300 100x150 Review of Her Unlikely BodyguardReview by Tasha Turner

Blurb from Amazon.com: A stalker who wants revenge…a past flame rekindled…Jemma Leigh’s summer just got interesting.

***

Jemma Leigh Harding has drawn the attention of an unknown stalker and returns to her hometown of Somerville, a safe haven—or so she thinks—on the east coast of Canada.

Theodore Garrity is the last person she expects to see, considering how easily he walked away from her after graduation to join the army.

Their past history involves secrets Jemma Leigh is hesitant to share. When it becomes clear the stalker has followed her home, Teddy becomes her unlikely bodyguard. Will the terror and past hurts separate them forever? Or will love blaze a fresh path for their future?

Right from the start the book pulls you in. So many secrets. You don’t know who to trust. The characters are believable. I was totally engrossed in the story. You have hot guys. Real-life situations. At first I struggled with the problem of Jemma being strong at some times and weak at others until I thought about how I’d feel if I were in her shoes and I realized I’d probably bounce up and down also. And this is what I love about Lorraine’s writing I lose all track of time, I can’t put the book down, I have to find out how it ends from the 1st chapter. And from the start she had me stumped. Who the stalker is came as a complete surprise. And stumping me is hard. My husband hates watching TV or reading books with me as even outside of my genre I usually figure out who done it very early on.

But this book was not only a good mystery. We also had some great kids in the book. Nothing I love more than single parents getting a 2nd chance at love. And kids at having a family. And extended family. And a community that comes together and helps each other. This is a book about hope and the goodness of people even while it has evil stalking the heroine. This book makes you yearn for a community like Somerville or if you are like me and live in such a community thankful that such places still exist.

If that was not enough we have a hot, steamy romance with just the right amount of sex. Hunky men who are not afraid of strong women but instead attracted by them. A woman who everyone wants because she is something special. Strong, sweet, loyal, beautiful, what normally we’d hate in another woman but instead we are rooting for her throughout the book.

I felt very privileged to have been able to read this before it was released and only wished that my health would have worked for the review to have been up on the day the book was released. If you love a good romance go get this book. I give it 5 stars. I can’t wait to read my next book by Lorraine and thank her for the honor and trust she put in me.

 

Zakia and the Cowboy by Lorraine Nelson

Guest Review by Rebbè Landers

“Right there and then, Zakia fell in love with him all over again. Once he’d used his pet name for her, she knew her arrogant, macho cowboy had been the right person to turn to after all. Zakia turned with a wide smile on her face, relieved and very much at ease for the moment, as she made a big scene over the ponies. ‘They’re adorable… and they’re twins! How can you tell them apart?’”

This story was an enjoyable read about a couple who marry young and after some misunderstandings that led to their divorce bring them back together once more during a crisis. Finding that love still lingers between the two, not to mention a little surprise for him, they can’t seem to stay apart.

You just know from the first moment they set eyes upon each other that the fireworks between the two of them were inevitable. The descriptiveness of the scenery in the areas is fantastic, as the characters come to life in the mostly rural setting. Family and life in the country are an important part of this story making one wish to be a part of the lifestyle even if only for a short time.

I enjoyed this story enough that I had to read it for a second time. I enjoyed it all over again. I’ve always loved a cowboy on horseback or off, and there is a great suspense to this story as well. While reading this story you can see how a hard working cowboy earns a living at the same time teaching his children about the peacefulness and quality of life on a farm or ranch. It made me wish to be able to go for a ride on a horse with the lead character myself. Giddy up go cowboy!

I give Zakia and the Cowboy 5 big ole Texas style stars, and sure do wish there were more of those kind of cowboys out and about here, droolworthy writing.

http://tasha-turner.com/

Thank you, Tasha and Rebbe for such excellent reviews!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

